Glenora Wine Cellars - Weddings - Wedding Testimonial
0: $0.00

Wedding Testimonials

 

2020

We did our research and visited a number of venues in the Finger Lakes area, but it was clear from the start that Glenora Wine Cellars made the decision easy. To say a 2020 wedding was unique would be an understatement. But given all that was going on in the world we always felt in great hands with James Merritt. From start to finish James was a perfect "10". He clearly mapped out what we could expect and even a global pandemic did not impede his ability to deliver exactly as promised. His preparation, continued attention to detail, professionalism, and impeccable communication left us calm cool and collected throughout the process, culminated with a miracle day that our family will never forget. I highly recommend Glenora and James Merritt for any event, but most particularly your dream wedding. Thank you James.

-Stephen T., Reviewed on 8/19/2020

We did a lot of research over our 2 year engagement on venues for our 2020 wedding. We were looking for something in the finger lakes that could offer a cozy but elegant venue for both our ceremony and reception. It was obvious from the first time we visited Glenora and met with James that they were two steps ahead of the rest... everything about the planning process was so effortless. The venue is absolutely stunning and the staff was amazing to work with from beginning to end. Our guests kept mentioning how beautiful it was and everyone had a smile on their face the whole day.

I also have to make a special thank you and recommendation for them based on how incredible they were through the COVID pandemic in helping ensure our wedding was still perfect and what we wanted. We ended up having to change plans a bit and opted for an intimate family-only ceremony this year, with plans to have a big bash next year (assuming we can do so at that time) and Glenora and James were so amazing in facilitating that and making it totally stress-free. Highly highly recommend, cannot say enough good things about the venue and especially James for putting us at ease and making our day perfect, even in the midst of a pandemic. Would give 10 stars if I could!

-Natasja & Lucas, Reviewed on 9/1/2020

Glenora holds a special place in my families heart and to have been able to hold our wedding here was a dream come true! James is an absolute hero to work with! He was always available, never turned down any of my crazy ideas and calmed any nerve that I had through the whole planning process! I cannot thank him enough!! To sum up, if you're looking for a venue that has beautiful scenery year round, amazing food on site, a space that you can truly envision anything in, a day that is filled with love & happiness, a kick ass wedding team and a James (trust me, you're not going to find one anywhere else!), Glenora is your place!

-Amie H., Reviewed on 1/16/2020

2019

If a perfect wedding venue existed, it would be Glenora Wine Cellars! My daughter's wedding was everything we had hoped for... and more. We had a clear, crisp Fall day with beautiful scenery, excellent food, and of course great wine! So many guests came up to us and said it was the best wedding they had ever been to...an absolutely accurate assessment!

James and his staff made all the planning and implementation stress free... they were awesome to work with. James made everything seem so easy, even though I am sure it was not! He has a great eye for detail and nothing was left out. We trusted him with the layout of all our decorations, the dessert table, etc. and our trust was earned... everything was beautiful! Future brides and grooms and their families are fortunate to have James and Glenora Wine Cellars as a perfect backdrop for their wedding day!

- Barbara (Mother of The Bride), Reviewed on 11/06/2019

From the groom: To get right to the point, James was amazing. Thanks to James and his team, every stage of our beautiful wedding day at Glenora was flawlessly executed. His attention to detail and enthusiasm for wedding-day success allowed for my wife and I to do nothing but enjoy the day. Could not have asked for a better day, location, or wedding planner to help us create the perfect wedding day. 

From the bride: Our wedding day generated so much joy thanks to James, and the incredible team at Glenora Inn & Wine Cellars / Veraisons Restaurant . From day one, James ensured that we would be taken care of, and that there would be no problem bringing our wedding day vision to life. We are SO GLAD we trusted our day with James and his team. Prior to the big day, James was timely with email correspondence, provided fantastic recommendations and was extremely accommodating with our requests. On the day of the wedding, my husband and I did not worry about one single detail. Everything ran smoothly and James was there from start to finish. Our guests raved about the food, the gorgeous venue, and the incredible service. Thanks to James and everyone at Glenora, we have memories we will cherish for years and years to come. We cannot recommend Glenora highly enough.

-Emily & Joe, reviewed on The Knot 10.14.19

BOOK YOUR WEDDING HERE!!! My husband and I recently got married at Glenora and it was the best decision we ever made. First of all, the venue included so much for your wedding. This includes food (amazing our guests have not stopped raving about it), tables, chairs, table cloths, napkins, cake cutters, cake stands, cupcake stands, candle votives, champagne flutes, table numbers- the list literally goes on and on. Do you know how much money we saved because of this?! You can browse their inventory to use for your wedding just ask James!

Now speaking of James...

THANK THE LORD FOR JAMES. James literally saved my life during planning. From everything the venue includes to all of his help and guidance, I don't think I could of done it without him. He constantly kept in touch promptly and the day before the wedding helped take in all of our boxes and decor like a pro and set everything up exactly how we wanted. We even trusted him to do some things his own way which was the best idea ever (if you think about it who knows more than him in this situation..honestly). The day of he was totally focused on keeping everything as smooth as possible and he succeeded. The next day everything we brought was broken down and neatly placed for us to take home!!!!!!!! He is so sweet and definitely handled some bride breakdowns like a pro. I really feel like without James our wedding would not have been as amazing as it was. Everything went smoothly and I was so much less stressed because of him.

Now Glenora...

The VIEWS!! Every room on the property has a view of the vineyard and lake and it's absolutely incredible. (Another thing our guests have not stopped raving about). Every photo taken at our wedding was breathtaking just from this. There is also many hotel options near by and shuttle services available to rent to accommodate additional guests! Staying at Glenora also includes so many perks likes free wine tasting for guests every day of their stay, a free bottle of wine in the room and tasting at sister wineries on the lake. (our guests were EXCITED)

Honestly the list goes on and on you should really book an appointment to see it for yourself. Our wedding was the best best best best flawless day ever because of the venue and most importantly James. I hope every bride gets to say this about their special day.

-Tina I., reviewed on The Knot 10.04.19

I honestly don't know where to begin. Glenora was the only venue we looked at when choosing a place for our wedding. Within 5 minutes of our tour and meeting with James the event manager we were ready to sign a contract and book the date. James is INCREDIBLE and makes wedding planning so easy. He is attentive, so easy going and works so hard to make sure you as the couple are getting exactly what you want for your wedding day. Even when I stressed about the weather and possible rain he kept me calm and assured me it would all be okay. We ended up having to move our ceremony onto the covered terrace and it was still beautiful and perfect. Our guests have not stopped raving about the food, the service, the VIEW. Honestly, before we booked my fiancé was skeptical of all of the 5 star reviews but we can now say we know why. Having the inn attached and being able to offer rooms for our guests was another huge perk. The fire pit was great for our late night after party. There are just so many wonderful things about this place I could go on and on. Having our wedding here was the best decision we could make. If I could do it all over again I wouldn't change a thing. Thank you James and Glenora for helping to create the most magical day of our lives!

-Erin Z., reviewed on The Knot 07.03.19

I’m not sure if it’s possible for us to express in words how grateful we are that we chose Glenora Wine Cellars as our wedding venue and how incredibly impressed we were across the board through the entire planning process . As out-of-state residents, we chose Glenora after falling in love with the Finger Lakes region and simply loved Glenora for the location and scenic backdrop. We also underestimated just how convenient it was to have lodging options right on site. But more than anything, we could not imagine anyone being more helpful in planning our day than James. He was so responsive and reassuring every step of the way, answering our endless questions. He was such a calming presence even up until we walked down the aisle and truly made us feel like he would swiftly handle any issues that arose, which is so important when you’re stressed with all the little details of the day. All of the service staff at Glenora, including the restaurant, inn, and winery, were incredibly friendly and professional, not only on our wedding day but during every visit we have had. The dinner was absolutely amazing and many guests made it a point to stop in at Veraisons even after the wedding day. Finally, for anyone planning a wedding out-of-state like us, I couldn’t imagine another venue making the process so flawless— I actually don’t think it would be this easy to plan a wedding in our own town! James provides you with a packet of preferred vendors and we were extremely satisfied with every vendor we used. It also says a lot when communicating with the vendors, they would all speak praises about Glenora and how much they enjoy working with James. I would recommend this venue a thousand times over. Thank you for making everything about our wedding day more perfect than we could ever imagined! 

-Kelly D., reviewed on The Knot 07.11.19

My husband and I were married 6/15/19 at Glenora, and we could not be happier with our choice. 10 stars. Both the venue and wedding and events manager James were perfection, and made for a wedding day better than I could have ever hoped for. There are so many reasons to choose this venue, I will just note a few. First, the venue is stunning. The few photo's and video I have seen so far are breathtaking, overlooking vineyards and the lake. The restaurant is beautiful. This place is easy to work with on a budget because not much extra work is required to make it ready for a wedding. In January there is a bridal expo held at Glenora, and this is were I found all my vendors. This was perfect because these are the ones that commonly work with the venue, and that made it all incredibly easy too. Second, our wedding was destination for 99% of our guests. A large chunk were able to stay at the hotel attached to Glenora, which most other venues in the area don't offer. We did end up providing a shuttle service to the remaining guests, as taxi's and ubers aren't available like they are in a city. Also, as most of our guests were out of town, there was plenty to do the whole weekend for those not in the wedding party. Third, there is an indoor option for the ceremony in case of bad weather. I grew up in upstate NY and this was one of my requirements for a venue, knowing how unpredictable the weather could be. Again, not a lot of the venue's in the area offer this. I was so relieved I did this, because our wedding day was in between two horrible days. Rain was predicted as well as high winds. We got lucky and ceremony ended up outside, but up to just a few minutes before we could have moved inside if we needed to. An extremely nice touch that made the wedding feel super high class, every guest staying at the hotel was given a class of champagne upon arrival, as well as a free bottle of wine in the room. Last but not least in any way... JAMES, the wedding and events manager. He was a dream to work with. He is so calm cool and collected, he made the almost 2 years I spent planning our wedding, and the day of, a breeze. This is how a wedding should be! At the end of our wedding, we both gave him a hug feeling like we were saying goodbye to a friend. There are no negatives to this location. I could keep going... but I will leave it at this. I would not hesitate to choose this venue again. 

-Kara L., reviewed on The Knot 07.01.19

The perfect venue for our wedding of about 100 guests! One stop shop for our ceremony, reception, and places for families and friends to stay. Glenora deserves the rewards it holds and met all of our expectations. I want to echo many of the reviews here from previous years: James, our coordinator is still executing weddings with perfection! Relaxed, professional, and punctual with responses throughout the build up season. He was very flexible and always available the weekend of as we set up a breakfast and walkthrough with the families. And on the day of, if there was a problem or snag, I never even knew about it as he had everything taken care of. All for what I feel is a very reasonable price. Hey weddings aren't cheap but you won't regret the investment in Glenora.

-John L., reviewed on The Knot 06.06.19

We had our ceremony and reception both here and all of our guests (and us!) absolutely LOVED it! Their wedding planner James was with us from start to finish on the big day, and helped all along our planning process too. It snowed unexpectedly on our wedding day, but not to worry- James stayed in contact and moved the ceremony from outside to instead on their covered balcony a few hours before the ceremony began. The food was amazing, and they give a ton of options to cater it to whatever your style is. On top of that, they accommodated different diets we had in our guest count and the service we had all night was absolutely incredible. Your guests won’t leave hungry, that’s for sure! I would recommend Glenora to anyone getting married in the Finger lakes- you can’t beat the view or the overall experience, and to top it off you can rent rooms and stay there too!

-Mackenzie W., reviewed on The Knot 05.04.19

2018

We chose this amazing venue for their sweeping views of Seneca Lake and did they deliver! The coordinator there, James, ensured our day went smoothly, was there to answer any questions we had, and was an absolute joy to work with! The professionalism of the entire staff at Glenora was more than we could have ever asked for! 
-Nicole E., reviewed on The Knot 11.17.18

James was our planner and kept us informed and up to date for the entire year. He and my best man worked together so every detail was met. Our intimate wedding of 15 people was fabulous with James staff complementing his leadership. If your not considering the Glenora for your wedding, you and your guests accommodations and meals and wine your making a big mistake.
-William S., reviewed on The Knot 10.01.18

Glenora Wine Cellars couldn’t have been a more perfect setting to have our wedding. It truly felt like a fairytale! The views are breathtaking, the food is excellent, and the service trumps both of those things. I don’t even know where to begin with James. He is such an incredible event coordinator, and knew the answer to every single question I had (and believe me, there were a lot of questions.) He made sure that everything was set to go the day of the wedding, down to the smallest detail. We are so grateful that James was there for us throughout our wedding planning process. He is THE BEST in the business!
-Christine J., reviewed on The Knot 9.15.18

Our wedding at Glenora was absolutely perfect. James made all our dreams come true and was easy to communicate with and prompt with answers. He is a true wedding expert.I am so thankful for the suggestions he made throughout the planning process because I would have never thought of them myself. My guests raved about the food. My bridesmaids and myself stayed at the beautiful cottage on Glenora's property the night before the wedding. The inn at Glenora was a huge plus, allowing our guests to stay on site. The scenery at Glenora provided a breathtaking atmosphere and absolutely beautiful photos. All the staff were accommodating and seemed genuinely happy to be part of our big day. We are so glad we chose Glenora!! Thank you for making our dreams come true!
-Jessica C., reviewed on The Knot 9.9.18

Thanks so much to James who went above and beyond to facilitate the perfect wedding event for our daughter. Glenora provided the perfect venue for this event, from the gorgeous views to the courteous staff to the delicious food! Thanks James for your hard work and attention to detail.
-Ralph D., reviewed on The Knot 8.28.18

CAN I GIVE 100 STARS!? If you don't choose Glenora for the UNREAL scenery, out-of-this-world food, excellent wine, or convenient on-site guestrooms... CHOOSE GLENORA FOR JAMES!!! James is the most professional, laid back, easy going person to work with, and when planning something as complex and high-stress as a wedding, easy going is exactly what you need! The second my family and I met James the decision to have our wedding there was made, and he made our dreams come true. Working with James the past year has been fun and SO EASY. I am a perfectionist and so detail oriented that I originally wanted to set the room up myself. After seeing what James and his crew did- I wouldn't have done HALF as good as they did! I changed some things last minute and as I started panicking, James said "no worries, we got this! it will be perfect" and it was!! He was there first thing in the morning to hang flowers on the arch, lined us up for the ceremony, arranged us before the introductions, SERVED dinner, and stayed through the end to clean up. What doesn't he do!?! All of our guests said this was one of the best weddings they have ever been to and not one thing was overlooked. We owe that to the entire crew at Glenora. From the front desk & housekeepers, to the amazing chef, the bartenders & servers.. they are TOP NOTCH. Our guests raved about every single employee they encountered. Thank you to James and his team at Glenora- we will be talking about the perfection of 8/25/18 forever!!!
-Alyssa D., reviewed on The Knot 8.28.18

Glenora was a dream come true for our wedding day in July. It was such beautiful and idyllic setting and of all the venues we considered, it was the most convenient: the ceremony, lodging, reception areas are all on site and James and the whole Glenora team are experts at what they do. Accessibility to airports and proximity to interesting sites for our out-of-town guests made it ideal. James' professionalism was so reassuring and he made sure everything came together perfectly. The food (and wine!) were also incredible. We can't wait to visit in the future and reminisce about our wedding day!
-Knottie, reviewed on The Knot 7.24.18

Glenora was great to us for our rehearsal dinner. The food was amazing and the view was breathtaking. The group had an amazing time and we have several comments made about the view. James even took it upon himself to create place cards for us. Would highly recommend for large group outings!
-Maria S., reviewed on The Knot 7.5.18

Glenora was amazing. My husband is from the area but we do not live in the state but working with James and Kathy (who is no longer there) was the easiest part of the planning. Even as Kathy transitioned out they were both on the same page and made it seamless. The day of, James was on it, he handled all the timeline and set up for us so we could get ready and enjoy the evening. He even ensured I could check in early to get ready, which I had totally forgotten to ask the front desk. All the guest loved the view and the tenderloin w mojo sauce! James and Glenora were the perfect choice for us!
-Miracle L., reviewed on The Knot 6.29.18

I cannot say enough about this venue and coordinator!!! We fell in love with Glenora for its views and the incredible food at Verasions, but James is just awesome! He is the cherry on top! We planned our wedding from Florida, and he stayed in touch with every detail through the whole process. He worked around our crazy schedules so we could get tastings and things done while we were visiting family locally, and genuinely cared about our big day! He felt more like a friend and guest at the wedding by the time the big day rolled around. He also worked very closely with the chef, Orlando to make our dream table-length charcuterie boards come to life (which is a big deal being that Im a chef, and we are both foodies!) The hotel itself was wonderful, the rooms could use an update, but with the views and free bottle of wine, no one seemed to mind much! We also used the Cottage at Glenora for our bridal suite getting ready the day of, and it was perfect. The sun room is beautiful and picturesque! I wish I could give 10 stars and we will definitely be revisiting for many anniversaries to come! Huge thanks to James, Orlando and the whole Glenora staff!
-Lauren Z., reviewed on The Knot 6.27.18

Our wedding at Glenora was everything we wanted and more! James and his team took care of everything the day of and I didn’t have to worry at all. I’m a a big planner and very detail-oriented person, but everything came together perfectly and that’s a big testament to the Glenora wedding team. If you want a picturesque, charming location that your guests will be talking about forever and photos that make your jaw drop, then Glenora is the place for you!
-Angelia R., reviewed on The Knot 6.18.18

2017

We cannot say enough about Glenora! To start, our wedding coordinator, James, was an absolute pleasure to work with throughout our entire planning process. He was nothing short of attentive, compassionate, understanding, and so incredibly hard working. My favorite moment was walking down stairs with my father, to find James knelt down, eye level with my niece/flower girl, reassuring her of how pretty she looked and how amazing she would do. She giggled, still a little nervous and made her way down the aisle. Our entire day was stunning and absolutely perfect thanks to James and his entire team! As the doors opened to walk down the aisle to my soon to be husband, the sweet aroma of grapes from the vineyard, the view of the lake, and all of our friends and family there to celebrate us, literally took my breath away! The food was absolutely impeccable, I don't think there was one person who didn't rave about how amazing it was. James and his team made it a point to determine ahead of time who was responsible for any questions or concerns the day of the wedding so that my husband and I did not worry about anything. Now, just like any family we had those who required a little more attention than the rest. Again, this team did everything and anything to accommodate everyone, from picky eaters, plating and serving those who had difficulty getting around the buffet, while always ensuring that my husband and I were taken care of and had everything we needed. We finished our night with our family and friends dancing the night away and singing "Ring Of Fire" on repeat 3 times! We never worried about anything from set up to take down! The following morning we were greeted with mimosas as we arrived to breakfast and treated as if we were the most important people there. Our day was perfect from start to finish and none of it would have been possible without the stunning scenery, beautiful venue, and the hard work and dedication from James and his team! We were blessed and grateful to have chosen Glenora as our wedding/reception venue.
-Kayla B., reviewed on The Knot 11.20.17

I had the perfect dream wedding at Glenora, thanks to Kathy and her team! The venue is absolutely stunning - a perfect Finger Lakes wedding venue - and everything is so well organized and thoughtful. Kathy handled so many different details during the planning and the wedding day, it took away a lot of the stress I hear other brides deal with on the big day!
-Hannah M., reviewed on The Knot 10.19.17

I wish I could give Glenora and James 10+ stars. From the scenery to the venue to the food and especially James' help and expertise, Glenora made wedding planning easy and no detail was left to chance. Our day was absolutely perfect from beginning to end. James and the entire staff were helpful, attentive and just as excited about our day as our we were. James' commitment to ensuring we had a perfect day was unparalleled, he went above and beyond. He was helpful and supportive throughout the whole planning process offering suggestions and recommendations, this was especially helpful since we planned our wedding from Michigan. Friends and family are still talking about our day. There are not enough words or stars to thank Glenora, their team and especially James for helping make our wedding day absolutely perfect.
-Alyssa P., reviewed on The Knot 10.12.17

AMAZING! There are so many words that come to mind when thinking about our wedding! Glenora was the best choice and we had a GREAT time! The location is beautiful and we can't wait to see the pictures :) Our guests kept telling us how beautiful the location is and that the staff was wonderful! James was amazing from the beginning! He answered EVERY question and was with us the entire way! I can't say enough about how great he was! It was so nice not to have to worry at all about the venue or how it was going to look! James knew what we wanted and made sure it happened! He was calm every step of the way, even when I left my bouquet in my room before the ceremony haha! We wouldn't have changed a thing and LOVED our special day! We would make this choice again! Thank you James and the staff at Glenora for making our day BEAUTIFUL and SPECIAL! We're married!! 10/7/17
-Carolyn G., reviewed on The Knot 10.9.17

Our wedding in July, 2017 was everything we dreamed it to be and more. We owe so much of that to our wedding coordinator James (and Kathy too)! As soon as we decided on this stunning venue James was there for us from day one. He is always upbeat, dependable, and so accommodating with ANYTHING you could possibly need. I hope that Kathy and James know how much they mean to a bride and how much stress relief they provide just by being who they are. On the morning of the wedding we were each able to spend all our time with our bridal parties knowing that everything else would be taken care of by James and the rest of Glenora's staff. Then we were able to fully enjoy and soak in the rest of the day by getting married outside with Seneca Lake and the vineyards as the view. We followed the ceremony with a delicious dinner in the cozy dining room, and finished with dancing the rest of the night away under the stars and the string lights they have set up. It could not have been a more romantic and beautiful setting and people still complement the venue to this day. We would give anything to go back to that day and would recommend this venue, along with Kathy and James, to anyone in a heartbeat!
-Christy A., reviewed on The Knot 10.2.17

James was wonderful!!! He answered every question and was great with helping us plan everything from over three hours away! I knew everything was handled and never worried about a thing!
-Danielle E., reviewed on The Knot 9.25.17

My husband and I had our wedding reception here back in May. Kathy our coordinator was EXCELLENT. She was extremely helpful, accommodating, and friendly. The restaurant was able to accommodate our vegan guests along with our guests with food allergies. The grounds were absolutely beautiful. The service, location and quality made our reception better than we could have imagined it to be. The food and wine were excellent as well. I would recommend this place to anyone looking to host an event in the area. More kudos to Kathy for coordinating our event so gracefully.
-Melissa T., reviewed on The Knot 7.19.17